Love Languages

Love Languages in the Home

One of the best things I ever learned about in my life were the 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman and how important it is to see that each of us responds more powerfully to certain prompts.  

My FREE e-guide "5 Tips for Effective Communication" (which I gift to you for joining my mailing list at the bottom of this page) also gives a beautiful overview for adults and children to cultivate better relationships with others and also how to speak to yourself because self-worth and self-love are EVERYTHING.


For the home, here are some great ideas adapted from Gary Chapman's works: 

Words of Affirmation: 

  • Using encouraging words

  • Giving specific examples of things others did well

  • Saying loving, kind things to one another

  • Written cards and letters

Quality Time:

  • Undivided attention

  • Full presence

  • Running errands together

  • Try something new together

  • Going on walks

  • Quiet time

Receiving Gifts:

  • Openheartedly enjoying receiving something

  • Appreciating the thought that went into the gift you received

  • Saying "Thank you"

Acts of Service:

  • Volunteering together

  • Doing something kind for one another (parent for a child; child for a parent)

  • Assisting with household chores

  • Asking "How can I help you?" or "What else can we do together?"

Physical Touch:

  • Non-verbal communication (pleasant eye contact)

  • Hugs

  • Pats

  • Touches

  • Sitting close to one another instead of distancing